Recent HI Golf Course Reviews


bk.wolford@yahoo.com
Hayden Lake, ID
3 Reviews
  
i liked the track. The greens were SLOW and a little rough. may have been because of a ncaa tourney going on at the same time on the Kings course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: February 5, 2016 | Cost: $145


gael63
Ashland, OR
3 Reviews
Royal Ka'anapali is the first golf course I played, twenty years ago. I was delighted this year to play it a second time -- travel to Hawaii is a rare treat for me. It's still a splurge, but the course has lost nothing of its charm, its spectacular beauty and mild weather, its very accommodating staff. The course was in great shape, in spite of recent rain. Generous fairways. Excellent facilities, spacious pro shop -- with photos and plaques of golfers we know on a first name basis: Bing, Arnie, Jack, Fuzzy, Gary.... My score was high, but so were my spirits, and I savored every par. It's a bucket list course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: January 23, 2014 | Cost: $181


psk
Kailua Kona, HI
1 Reviews
Makalei Hawaii Country Club of Kailua Kona, HI
  
This is a hidden gem. The first and second holes were narrow and had me a little worried but then it opened up to a great experience. The greens were perfect (bent grass). The fairways were better than average. The vistas were outstanding. On number 9 we could see Maui and on most of the others we had a wonderview of the coastline. The animals (Peacocks, Francolins, Pheasant and others) are all used to golfers and will approach your cart looking for an edible handout. (some beautifule creatures so bring a camera) The staff was very friendly and informative. The course has a 144 slope rating from the championship tees and a 134 from the whites which makes it a (at least for me) difficult course. Not only was the golf great but the course is fun and because of its elevation the temperature was very comfortable.
Overall and excellant experience.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 23, 2013 | Cost: $65.00


gregtake01
Honolulu, HI
2 Reviews
Olomana Golf Links of Waimanalo, HI
  
Olomana Golf Links is on the Windward side of the island of Oahu about 25 minutes from Honolulu and Waikiki. It is a par 72 course so it is a regulation sized course. This side of the island receives a lot of rain so I've played this course almost swampy wet and I've also played this course nice and dry/green. The fairways are somewhat wide and the greens are a little slow because the high amount of rain that side gets. The pro shop is well stocked with Olomana "stuff" and the snack cart is available at the clubhouse. All in all a decent place to play a round but I prefer a little cheaper.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 17, 2013 | Cost: $40


gregtake01
Honolulu, HI
2 Reviews
Kahuku Golf Course of Kahuku, HI
  
The Kahuku Golf Course is a municipal 18 hole par 70 (or maybe 72) course on the North Shore of Oahu. It's a good ways away from a lot of the other golf courses in Ewa but relatively near Turtle Bay Golf Course. This is a small course that doesn't see much use except for the regulars and retirees who want a good round of golf for a good price with as few other golfers around as possible. Some of the holes are quite nice being up against the beach so there is that. The course is somewhat maintained by onsite golf crews but it can get a bit dry out there.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 3, 2013 | Cost: $18


Gregtake
Honolulu, HI
9 Reviews
  
This was a nice course but is VERY far away from the actual Hawaii Prince Hotel. This course is out on the Ewa plain, which is about 30 minutes from downtown Honolulu and 40 minutes from Waikiki. The starters office/pro shop is a relatively well furnished pro shop but as usual a little overpriced for some small things. They have personalized shirts as most pro-shops do so if you're into those kinds of things. The course is generally pretty easy with relatively wide fairways and pretty soft greens. The course is broken up into 3 9 hole courses and I played the A/B course. C is the harder course with water hazards so I stayed away for fear of losing balls. All in all a pretty good course if you get the local discount or get the discount for staying at the Hawaii Prince Hotel.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: February 18, 2013 | Cost: $35


Gregtake
Honolulu, HI
9 Reviews
Hawaii Country Club of Wahiawa, HI
  
Played this course the other weekend and shot my lowest round ever at a 98. The course is relatively easy, no real water hazards or huge sand traps like koolau but it is rather hillly. Decent price for twilight at around $30 for a round of 18. The greens were okay but the fairways was a little ratty sometimes.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: November 11, 2012


Gregtake
Honolulu, HI
9 Reviews
  
Played here this past weekend because the fiancee wanted to work on the short game. It is a modest par 3 course with some challenging uphill shots. The fairways are relatively maintained; probably because it shares a site with a full fledged par 72. Pretty cheap on the weekends at twilight.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 21, 2012


Gregtake
Honolulu, HI
9 Reviews
Ewa Villages Golf Course of Ewa Beach, HI
  
I played here this past weekend and I still have a good time here. It's a decent course for the money because it's a municipal course, especially with a Hawaii golfer ID. Fairways are relatively wide and the greens are decently cut. No real big issues with the rough stuff and the water hazards are decently placed. Have a good time with the locals here!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 7, 2012 | Cost: $18


Gregtake
Honolulu, HI
9 Reviews
Ko Olina Golf Club of Kapolei, HI
  
Ko'olina Golf Course is a beautiful course on the West side of Oahu. I boasts a decently difficult 18 hole course that is well maintained alongside great views of The Ihilani Marriott and the new Disney Aulani Resort. The staff are very friendly and they come around relatively often to offer drinks and snack to purchase. Driving range is great because you can hit balls off of grass.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 25, 2012 | Cost: $60