Recent PA Golf Course Reviews


localgolfer
Owings Mills, MD
63 Reviews
Flatbush Golf Course of Littlestown, PA
  
Boycott the NFL on Sundays. Support a local business.
Go golfing and enjoy the outdoors. Conditions are sometimes good and sometimes not so good. Then read some history and spend some time with your children and grandchildren.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 24, 2017


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Quail Valley Golf Club of Littlestown, PA
  
I have always liked the layout of this course, and the tee boxes, fairways, and greens are in excellent condition. I've already played 79 rounds this year, and these greens are easily the best I've played this year! They were excellent...nice pace, very consistent roll, and readable. I had 11 putts on the front and 16 on the back! The fairways were lush, but mowed to a nice length...as was the rough. It was not too punishing, but did require you to think through how you wanted to hit the ball to make the shot you wanted. Finally, the pace of play was EXCELLENT! We played on a Saturday in under 4 hrs. The marshal was riding around the course--we saw him often. The foursome in front of us started out slow (with at least one hole open in front of them). By #5, they were moving out and we never waited again. Kudos to the staff for managing the course! Overall, course in super condition and the $42 rack rate was a great value!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 8, 2017 | Cost: $42


pittfaninmd
Essex, MD
84 Reviews
Pilgrim's Oak Golf Course of Peach Bottom, PA
  
First time playing, I was impressed with the helpful staff and excellent conditions. Definitely a shot makers course with very undulated and multi tier greens. Course is player friendly and really forgiving. Big hitters make this course a pitch and putt

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 4, 2017 | Cost: $53


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Pilgrim's Oak Golf Course of Peach Bottom, PA
  
Tee Time Book $40 on Saturday after 10:30. Great deal! My last year review still stands--course in excellent condition from tee to green. Bunkers also in great shape. We played in about 4 hrs. 40 mins. Even though that's still a pretty decent time, Pilgrim's Oak continues to allow twosomes to play one behind the other vs. having them pair up to help with pace of play. We waited every hole, every shot. Unfortunate, because it does detract from the overall experience. Course and staff great, though!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 17, 2017 | Cost: $40


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
Royal Manchester Golf Links of Mt. Wolf, PA
  
Always a favorite, Royal Manchester didn't disappoint. Since they closed the course in 2015 due to chemical treatment ruining the greens, the course has come back and is in excellent shape. The greens are back to their usual smooth and fast. And the fairways are exceptional. Even the mounds are cut back to long rough on the front facing side with only the native grasses mostly on the top and down the back. Guess they mowed them this way to help with pace of play. Even with the 96 degrees, there was a nice breeze blowing over the rolling terrain so it wasn't bad at all. This course is worth the drive from the Baltimore area.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: June 13, 2017 | Cost: $37


localgolfer
Owings Mills, MD
63 Reviews
Mountain View Golf Club of Fairfield, PA
  
Clearly a better value than the "other course in Gettysburg".
We loved it. Played early and played fast.
Course is in very good condition. Some rocks in the traps here and there. Will play again. No frills, just a golf course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 31, 2016


localgolfer
Owings Mills, MD
63 Reviews
South Hills Golf Club of Hanover, PA
  
Paid a premium rate on a Sunday for, 5 HOURS and 45 MINUTES!!!!!
Absolutely inexcusable to charge a premium Sunday rate and not be able to afford to pay an employee to manage the 27 holes. Never let players insert themselves whenever they choose. Yes there was some improvement to prior conditions. But, it doesn't matter.
Golf is dying because it is too old and too slow!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 30, 2016


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
The Bridges Golf Club of Abbottstown, PA
  
UPDATE: Played on Tuesday and the course is in EXCELLENT shape! With surrounding courses (PA and MD), a lot of them have not survived the August/September heat. The Bridges, though, has. Great shape...the best I've seen and played on during the Summer. Additionally, pace of play was great. It was slow starting, but by #4, everyone had spread out and we were done in 4 hours. Great course, and very friendly staff. 5 Stars!!!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 27, 2016 | Cost: $28


localgolfer
Owings Mills, MD
63 Reviews
Grandview of York, PA
  
This course is terrible.
With all the attention needed, they have added a fancy brew pub. Why? This makes no sense. Fix the golf course!
Learning that a former local politician, liquor licensing, and development were the regular golfers primary topics of conversation, it would appear there is little hope for a comeback to a real golf course.
Many other much nicer courses in the area. Pass on this one.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: September 19, 2016


4Aces
Severn, MD
321 Reviews
The Links at Gettysburg of Gettysburg, PA
  
This is a very painful review for me to write. I LOVE this course; however, it's in the worse shape I've ever seen it! Every fairway--and I mean every fairway--was burned out. I was so surprised by this I ended up taking some pictures on the back (the par 5 #14)...the 1st picture is just past the tee boxes at the start of the fairway, the 2nd is in the middle of the fairway, and the 3rd is where my ball landed in the middle of the fairway on my second shot--the only green being a splotch of crabgrass! The greens on the back were in better shape than those on the front. The back, at least, were somewhat dry and rolling pretty true. The front greens were wet, scruffy, and riddled with spike marks because of how soft they were. I was very disappointed with the course today. The good news is 1) they only charged us $39, and 2) the staff, as always, is very welcoming and engaging. I will definitely go back, but not until next year. I don't know why they are having such problems with the browning, but it's just aesthetically unpleasing and not up to the standards I have come to expect from the Links at Gettysburg.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 16, 2016 | Cost: $39