Recent LA Golf Course Reviews


Bertrrr
Lake Charles, LA
3 Reviews
Mallard Cove Golf Course of Lake Charles, LA
  
Can't beat it for the price. Great for a city course

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: August 19, 2013 | Cost: $26.00


derekfrye1
Sulphur, LA
1 Reviews
Mallard Cove Golf Course of Lake Charles, LA
  
The course, overall, is a good course. The green fee is relatively inexpensive. Also, the course is well maintained.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: October 25, 2012 | Cost: $34


lsutigerfan
Baton Rouge, LA
2 Reviews
Santa Maria Golf Club of Baton Rouge, LA
  
Santa Maria is the jewel of the BREC owned courses having been designed by Robert Trent Jones. It is clearly staffed and operated differently than the other BREC courses which are poorly ran and maintained. If you get lucky and play this course when in its in peak condition, it's a great course, otherwise, it can often show the limitations of being subject to the constraints of a municipal owned course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 2, 2012 | Cost: $50


Aphit
La Place, LA
1 Reviews
Audubon Golf Course of New Orleans, LA
  
Audubon is one of the first courses I've played on. I don't play much golf, but when I do, I play at Audubon. I really like the course--it stays in great shape all of the times I've visited. My price is off because my buddies covered it last time. The courses are pretty short (think Par 3s) but it is still really enjoyable. For a public course, I like it a lot.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 17, 2012 | Cost: $20


mjrjr31
Kenner, LA
1 Reviews
Audubon Golf Course of New Orleans, LA
  
Audubon is one of the few courses to play in New Orleans that is not private. The course is always in great shape. Despite being a short course (a bunch of Par 3's) it is one of the best in the city. I enjoy it a ton more than City Park.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: March 3, 2012


BRYANLEE
Baton Rouge, LA
1 Reviews
Webb Park Golf Course of Baton Rouge, LA
  
Webb ranks third behind Santa Maria and Beaver Creek (amongst municipal courses in the Baton Rouge area). With that being said, the course is a great bargain! The staff is friendly, and the course is usually not crowded. For the price, I will absolutely continue to play here!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: February 25, 2012


Marine04
Plano, TX
10 Reviews
  
I played Abita springs on a Friday around 11am. Green fee did include cart and cost 34.00. The club house is small. Not alot of selection if you want to buy any gear or clubs. The bar tender/ waitress that ran the small restaurant was very friendly, and it's convenient because when you putt out on 9 the path takes you right to the clubhouse so you can get a drink. The course itself wasn't spectacular, but was in good shape. Tee boxes were well kept and watered. Some of the fairways were a little hard and dry, but green. The greens were average. Very minor imperfections, and not fast. The greens are best comparable to those of a mimicking course. I can't pick a favorite hole probably because for some reason I didn't score so hot that day. The one thing that would convince me to come back is the nature and wildlife. This course is hidden in the back woods of southern louisiana and it's a nice peaceful place to enjoy a round of golf and enjoy nature. Also be careful where you hit if your close to water because there are a ton of snakes, and yes we did get pretty close to one on this course.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 8, 2011


Marine04
Plano, TX
10 Reviews
Pinewood Country Club of Slidell, LA
  
I play courses in the Slidell area everytime I come to visit my wife's family and I have yet to be disappointed. In fact I have been impressed with wert course I have played in Louisiana and Pinewood rates very high on my list of courses in this area. I called for a tee time the day before, and to make sure I could afford the course since it did say country club in the name. I couldn't believe the price, 28.00 for a weekday morning! I wasn't sure what to expect with green fees that cheap, but as soon as I pulled into the parking lot I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. The course just looked great driving up to it. The club house wasn't big or fancy but it was nice. Customer service was top notch. The tee boxes were great, well manicured and watered. The first hole is the best hole to score on. It's a very short 250 yard par 4 from the white tees. Just aim down the left side of the fairway and hit a draw and you should get on putting for eagle. Most of the fairways were well kept. All the fairways were very green but some didn't seem to get as much water as others. The greens were in pretty good shape. Not fast greens, but they were very smooth to putt on. My favorite hole was the 17th just a 106 yard par 3 that I was able to tap in for birdie. It's not a long course only 5,633 from the white tees, but there is plenty of water and bunkers out there to get you. Oh and don't expect any help from the cart path it's dirt and your ball will not bounce back onto the fairway. My overall opinion of PInewood Country Club is that this is a unbeatable value. Very green, very nice golf course at an unbeatable price. If you haven't played here put it on your list.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 6, 2011


Marine04
Plano, TX
10 Reviews
Oak Harbor Golf Club of Slidell, LA
  
Oak harbor is a great course and great value in Slidell, LA. I played here while visiting my wife's family. Since it was just me I did not need a tee time. I played on a tuesday morning for only 35.00 which included a small bucket of range balls and cart. The club house staff was very friendly. The club house itself isn't very big but it is very well kept. The practice facility includes a driving range and large practice green. I was very impressed with how green and how well the course looked when I stepped onto the first tee box. This is a tough course and posed a few challenges. The rating from the white tee is 70.5 with a slope of 132. It's not a very long course though measuring 6,282 yards from the white tees, but make no mistake it is tough. I thought the nicest looking hole on the course was the #15 par 3 measuring 162 yards with water along the right side and cutting to te front of the green. The fairways on this course are very green and watered. You won't break your wrist taking a divot here. The greens played outstanding. The ball would bite and hang onto the greens. As for putting, these greens have good speed, but are not the fastest I've played. There are no bumps or divot spots on the greens. The ball rolls very nice and true on these greens. This course in my opinion is a must play. Next time I make the trip to Louisiana I will definitely play here again.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: July 5, 2011


PapasChauffeur
Alexandria, VA
1 Reviews
Webb Park Golf Course of Baton Rouge, LA
  
The staff was friendly and professional. The course was well maintained. Our cart broke down and we were able to flag down a staff member who brought us a new one within 5 minutes. Not too crowded on a typical weekday but be wary of tournaments.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 22, 2011 | Cost: $27