Recent Golf Course Reviews


GYE.Ocala
Ocala, FL
1 Reviews
  
Staff was nice, couse overall is in rough shape and needs lots of TLC. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 4, 2017 | Cost: $34.00


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
River Hills Golf & Country Club of Little River, SC
  
Wow! What a sleeper! I had never played this course and it was recommended by a friend. What a nice course, and very challenging! The Front 9 sucks you in...pretty standard holes with several doglegs and a little water. Don't be fooled! The Back 9 will eat your lunch! There's water on 7 out of 9 holes and strategic placement is required. Number 14 looks like a pretty benign hole, but it has some teeth, especially if you hit a mound on the left-hand side of the fairway! And, #17 is a challenging tee shot regardless of what tees you choose. I must live right--I pull hooked my tee shot into the hazard, hit a huge metal drain barely under the surface, and it bounced into the middle of the fairway! Only to then have to negotiate a water crossing in my next shot! Ugh... I did okay, but too much thought needed on these finishing holes. Beautiful course and sneaky challenging. The staff were wonderful as well! Welcoming, engaging, appreciated you being there, and accommodating whatever was needed. I thoroughly enjoyed my final round of my trip...before making the 8 hour drive home.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 3, 2017 | Cost: $50


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
Long Bay Club of Longs, SC
  
Replayed Long Bay. Although a little ways out (SC9 in Longs), it is a very nice course with an interesting layout. There's plenty of water in play and, of course, #10 is their signature hole and it is absolutely beautiful. You can't drive on the fairway, but have to stay on the sand cart path regardless of what side. You have to hit up to an elevated green, which is small and a challenge to hit; however, the mounding behind the green helps to keep the ball in play. Watch out for #15...this par 5 has water hazards across the fairway in the landing area and a significant lateral on the right side running the length of the hole. The greens were in good shape and running nicely. Very nice staff--I had to get out to the tee box, but couldn't get anything to eat because of the group waiting in line. The Pro offered to take my order and have someone run out my lunch! They did! It was very much appreciated, since I hadn't eaten since breakfast and it was almost 2:00. Nice touch.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 2, 2017 | Cost: $39


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
Pine Lake Golf Club of Anderson, SC
  
Called "The Granddaddy," Pine Lakes is a very traditional-style course...having been built in 1927. They did some renovations recently, but I'm not exactly sure what they renovated. It's been years since I've played here. The course, though, was in great shape, especially the fairways. The course has several doglegs, some water in play, and waste bunkers strategically placed. One of the crew told me there were only 27 total bunkers on the course, but they are deep and challenging. I got in a couple and I couldn't see over the top! More of a flop shot than a standard sand wedge. I enjoyed the variety of holes and figuring out where to place the ball for the best scoring opportunity. Another short course (4758-6675), it is still a must play. The clubhouse is absolutely beautiful and stately! And, the staff was wonderful! Helpful, welcoming, and accommodating.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 2, 2017 | Cost: $75


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
  
Replayed on Myrtle Beach National's Southcreek course. Southcreek is a traditional, more "standard" Carolina course, with tree-lined fairways, a little water here and there, and fairly straight holes. There are a couple of doglegs, but overall not a very challenging course. Enjoyable, though! The fairways were a little thin in places--shows some wear and tear--but certainly playable. This is a shorter course...from 4723 to 6416, which is short for the tips. Pace was a little slower, as well, for an afternoon round.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 1, 2017 | Cost: $49


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
  
This course is absolutely beautiful! It has mounds bordering so many fairways, and mounding around and behind the greens, which gives it a "gently rolling hills" look. Don't let the look fool you, though--this course is challenging! You get some of the most miserable bounces possible! But, it makes for an exciting round. The greens are fast and treacherous. I burned the edges all day, but just couldn't sink putts. I played with a local who works at a sister course and she talked about how difficult these particular greens were to play. (She, of course, didn't have the trouble I did.) I just like the look and feel of this course, and will return. We stayed for lunch and had a very good meal. The staff were excellent and very welcoming.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: May 1, 2017 | Cost: $63


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
Tradition Golf Club of Pawleys Island, SC
  
Replayed on Traditions, which is one of my favorites. The course was in excellent shape from tee box to green throughout the course. This course has pretty wide fairways and generous landing areas. The greens are undulating, and have some subtle breaks...and they are fast! Number 8 is an interesting hole with an island green, so watch that tee shot. And number 9 follows quickly with a wide marsh area you have to carry, so strategic placement is important. Just look at the holes prior to your decision making, because some of the holes you won't suspect as being challenging...and they can be! Staff was great--very accommodating and welcoming!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 30, 2017 | Cost: $49


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
Willbrook Plantation Golf Club of Pawleys Island, SC
  
Not an overly challenging course, but well maintained, interesting holes, and scenic. Old southern plantation clubhouse, Spanish moss hanging from the trees, marsh areas (it was originally a rice plantation), and alligators lurking. The course was in great shape, but the bunkers had really heavy sand...felt more like dirt. But, that's minimal compared to the great conditions. Greens were fast, but readable. The staff were wonderful--from the pro shop to the cart guys. Special kudos to the cart guys--I was a single and a woman and they put me in with a men's golf trip! Oh, boy! But, the cart guys gave me a cart by myself, which worked out great. They were extremely nice guys, but not terribly good golfers, so my having a cart helped with pace of play because I could go directly to my tee, help look for balls, and not interfere with their boys' trip experience. We did chat, but I gave them the space to enjoy themselves--and was able to do so because the cart guys had the foresight to let three carts go out together. Nice touch and very much appreciated!

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 30, 2017 | Cost: $74


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
  
Again...pristine! They are getting the course ready for the LPGA tournament in May and the fairways were exceptional, the greens firm and fast, and the rough brutal! Under new management (as of March 2015), the new management is very familiar with golf resorts and tournaments. It already shows in the attention and care of the courses. Stay at Kingsmill and experience their two resort courses.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 9, 2017


4Aces
Severn, MD
311 Reviews
Kiskiack Golf Club of Williamsburg, VA
  
My annual visit to Kiskiack. I just like the layout of this course, and the fairways and greens were in great shape. The greens were running pretty fast for this early in the season. I still have issues with the bunkers...a lot of erosion on the sides, and very thin on sand. They had a fair amount of rain the previous two days, so I will cut them some slack; however, they could have run the rake through them quickly to try and even them out a bit.

Value:
  Greens: 
  Fairways: 

Date Played: April 7, 2017 | Cost: $54